PDA

View Full Version : AR/M4 platform in PA

Mike Marley
05-28-14, 11:49
I just found out when I started shooting again that it's illegal in PA to hunt deer with an AR. My buddy said he thought you could hunt coyote with one though?

Anyone have and info on this rule?

nhskull21
05-28-14, 22:04
Dont think hunting with a semi is legal in pa. Take out the gas tube and you should be good unless you have a minium caliber requirement

Rob96
05-29-14, 03:28
As it stands right now semi auto rifles are not allowed. But, there is a state rep who has/will be introducing legislation to allow AR's for predators and varmints. Round count will be limited to one in the pipe and 5 in the mag.

Leaveammoforme
05-29-14, 03:34
Dont think hunting with a semi is legal in pa. Take out the gas tube and you should be good unless you have a minium caliber requirement

Take out the gas tube...and....
-or-
Take out the gas tube... period?

Mike Marley
05-29-14, 13:54
I just talked to my dad who is 73 and he told me that since he can remember semiauto rifles were not allowed in PA (to hunt). He said that's why he bought his (now very old) 22 in bolt action for hunting squirrels. He said no auto loaders, not even 22 were allowed. So, it's been the law for a long time. Kind of a bummer. I hope legislation is passed.

sewvacman
05-30-14, 07:26
Take out the gas tube...and....
-or-
Take out the gas tube... period?

Take out the gas tube period. It won't cycle after that.
Then take it to a Fish and Game guy and have him certify that it can no longer fire in semi-auto mode. Get a letter from them stating that fact, it will help you out in the field if another warden comes by asking questions. Max capacity is 3+1? if I remember correctly so you will need to modify a mag in such a way that it cannot be easily switched back out in the field. Do not take any un-modified mags with you or even leave one in the truck.