View Full Version : Digital cameras

Slater
05-31-14, 11:16
I know that most of us these days take pictures with our cell phone cameras. I've got an old (by today's technology standards) HP Photosmart that I've been using for around 7 years or so. It has 6.0 megapixels. I was browsing the local Wal-Mart today and noticed that they carry basic digital cameras in the $20-40 range with 14 megapixels.

Kinda made me notice how much camera technology is advancing. Anyone else stuck in the past with me or does everyone just use their cell phones nowadays?

montanadave
05-31-14, 11:22
My flip phone has a camera . . . but I don't know how to use it.

Palmguy
05-31-14, 12:10
My phone has a 13 megapixel camera in it.

My primary camera is a 36 megapixel DSLR (Nikon D800).

montanadave
05-31-14, 12:14
Getcha one of these bad boys: https://www.lytro.com/#lytro-illum-introducing

I don't know beans about photography, but these light field cameras do some cool stuff.

Alex V
06-01-14, 11:48
My primary camera is a 36 megapixel DSLR (Nikon D800).

I hate u... :-)

Had my eye on that since it came out. It's been a long time since I updated the DSLR body but the $3k price tag is holding me at bay. I already have the 24-70 f2.8 and 70-200 f2.8 but just cant press the order confirm button on the B&H website lol

kwelz
06-01-14, 12:50
Pixel count is pretty much meaningless at this point. It takes a lot more than megapixels to make a good camera.

GH41
06-01-14, 13:14
^^^^^ What he said! GH ^^^^^

Palmguy
06-01-14, 13:25
Pixel count is pretty much meaningless at this point. It takes a lot more than megapixels to make a good camera.

That's true. My last DSLR (D700, 12 MP) is orders of magnitude superior to my 13 MP Galaxy S4.

Sensor size and the glass in front of it are far more important.

Honu
06-01-14, 16:19
as a pro photographer most my life 15 years underwater 15 years on land now