PDA

View Full Version : Need help with choosing the right scope base

usmcchet9296
06-04-08, 12:46
I will be picking up a Remington 700 sbs in 223 and need to get a scope base. now Remingtons site is real vague and Im kinda new to this whole bolt action rifle thing. I dont know what kinda action (long/short) the SBS is. If anyone know what kind of scope base/brand/website to get it from I would appricate it.

P.S. if anyone knows the twist rate the SBS is I would appriciate that too.

Dave L.
06-04-08, 17:26
Your Remington 700 is a Short Action. My advice is get the Badger 20moa base(tilted down in front to get the most of your scope at longer ranges). Even if you don't plan on shooting long distances I would still go with the 20moa base- because you may want to in the future.
I would also use the Badger rings for what ever scope you decide on.

Site for the info:
http://www.badgerordnance.com/productgroup.php?id=rails

One of many places to buy- I would shop around:
http://www.brownells.com/aspx/ns/store/ProductDetail.aspx?p=1391&title=MAXIMIZED%20SCOPE%20RAIL
You don't want the "zero cant"- 20moa is the standard.

Hope this helps,
Dave

Dave L.
06-04-08, 17:29
I will be picking up a Remington 700 sbs in 223 and need to get a scope base. now Remingtons site is real vague and Im kinda new to this whole bolt action rifle thing. I dont know what kinda action (long/short) the SBS is. If anyone know what kind of scope base/brand/website to get it from I would appricate it.

P.S. if anyone knows the twist rate the SBS is I would appriciate that too.

I think you mean SPS.

theJanitor
06-04-08, 21:07
how much MOA adjustment does your scope have?

i still would go with the 20MOA base like it was mentioned before. just for the fact that you can rechamber a SA to a cartridge that might need the MOA gain in the future.

usmcchet9296
06-05-08, 00:36
I have a Leupold Vari-X III 6.5-20 Matte, Fine Duplex currently but plan to sell it for one of the following: