PDA

View Full Version : Flat base vs boattail charges

tcoz
06-09-14, 18:33
I'm a long time pistol reloader and just now starting to study reloading for rifle, specifically .223. My question is whether flat base and boattail bullets of equivalent weight are loaded with the same charge or do they require different charges. Thanks in advance.

markm
06-09-14, 21:25
I always use the same data and chrono/group from there. I've really only shot a bunch of Hornady 55 gr SP bullets though. I have some 60 grain Bergers I've been meaning to get to.

I'd guess the bearing surface would be more critical than the bullet shape. A heavy flat base bullet having a lot of bearing surface in the bore. Do you have any specific bullets you're using?

tcoz
06-10-14, 03:47
I'm just beginning to learn about rifle reloading and one of the things I've noticed is that there are more relevant bullet types available than there are with pistol and I'm trying to get used to the designations. I haven't bought bullets yet, but I'm planning to just use a 55 grain FMJ since I do some shooting indoors and that's all they allow. You said that you use Hornady SP bullets. I know the SP refers to spire point, but is that the same as FMJ? One designation seems to describe the shape of the bullet and the other describes the type. I'm a little confused.

I buy my pistol bullets from X-Treme bullets (Freedom Munitions) and unless people recommend otherwise, I'll probably continue to do so. Anybody have a better source to suggest?

Colt guy
06-10-14, 07:08
The Hornady SP is a soft point bullet and is not the same as a FMJ or full metal jacket. I prefer to use Hornady bullets, brass and presses.

Boat tail bullets are best for longer ranges two hundred years or more, but they are easier to load.

tcoz
06-10-14, 07:36
The Hornady SP is a soft point bullet and is not the same as a FMJ or full metal jacket. I prefer to use Hornady bullets, brass and presses.