PDA

View Full Version : Wrinkle in pistol cases

dan68
06-10-14, 09:22
Hi guys. New to the forum but have been reading through the threads now for a couple months. Great information! So I've been reloading for close to thirty years but mostly rifle. Just recently picked up a 9mm Springfield for my wife and liked it so much I bought a 45 for myself and started to reload for them. I have a dillon 550 and using rcbs dies and getting a wrinkle in the case during seating. Do I need to be using the powder charge funnel for belling and separate seating and crimping die to avoid this? It's the only thing I can think of after watching several videos on reloading but they never touch on this problem. I though at first I was ( in my seating/ crimping single die) that I was crimping them too tight before the bullet had a chance to fully seat but I have backed the crimp off to the point of being afraid the crimps not going to hold the bullet in if dropped. I'm tossing around the idea of going to the dillon 650 to set up and use for pistol and just use the 550 for rifle ammo. Anyone have any thoughts on this?Any help would be great. Thanks!
Dan

markm
06-10-14, 09:54
Do I need to be using the powder charge funnel for belling and separate seating and crimping die to avoid this? It'

YES! This also trues up the roundness of the case and pushes out any case mouth dings that the sizing die can't.

SteveS
06-10-14, 10:44
Yep Bell the cases. I don't like the dies that both seat and crimp.

dan68
06-11-14, 00:05
thank you guys! So my thoughts are if i need to be using seperate seating and crimping dies, and funds are there buy the dillon 650, use their dies, maybe get the case feeder and go with it?

markm
06-11-14, 08:30
I run the 550b, never tried the 650.

dan68
06-11-14, 09:19

So your saying if I use separate dies the problem will go away ? Thank you.
Dan

markm
06-11-14, 09:32