PDA

View Full Version : First time poster long term lurker need some help case seperation Reload

toothdoc
06-23-14, 14:16
I would like to start out with saying hello and thank you for the forums. I've been shooting AR's since 2006 and been reloading for 4 years as well.

I have shot this specific load thousands of times and had no previous signs of pressure issues.

Anyways info on the gun 10.5" SBR suppressed LMT upper CMMG lower.

This was the first round of a new magazine and the bullet did hit the target and most importantly no one was hurt.

Load info 1x fired LC, 24.6 g H335, wolf magnum primer, 55g V-max bullet. Loaded on Dillon 650.

I always inspect (with a case gage) all brass twice once after sizing and once again when the round is completed. I really don't know how I could have gotten an extra powder charge as I always look at the powder when seating the bullet and I also have the alarm on my press when powder doesn't fall within the correct range.

Anyways I do need to re-examine my load and the rest of the rounds and try to figure out what happened.

Any input would be appreciated I know I'm lucky no one was hurt and I take pride in loading good ammo this has shaken my confidence somewhat but I also know I have shot thousands of this round with no issues what so ever.

Finally, the upper receiver and BCG is toast I don't know about the barrel is it still OK to use?

Thanks for any input.

Onyx Z
06-23-14, 14:42
All brass the same headstamp? I've found a few random pieces of brass in my 1x fired LC lots before. All brass is not created equal.

Do you crimp? If not, it's likely the bullet was setback upon chambering.

markm
06-23-14, 14:42
Wow. What was your load specifics? Were there any other rounds that fired normally before this mag? What equipment are you using to meter powder and charge, etc.

That's more of a case failure (obviously due to excessive presure) than a separation.