PDA

View Full Version : Inconsistent COAL because of case or bullet length?

Djstorm100
07-09-14, 09:55
I loaded my first 32 rounds last night of Winchester Primer, 77 SMK, 8208XBR. Trying to load match ammo for my 18inch AR15 Powder is ranging from 22.0 to 23.4 (ladder test cartridge).

This is my first time loading rifle and I was told case length did not matter for COAL just as long the case length did not exceeded 1.760'

Brass was once first brass that ranged from 1.735 to 1.760. I ran these through a SB Full Sizer (RCBS). Set the bullet seating die to give COAL of 2.260 (magazine length . Load up another round and its 2.253, 2.240, 2.262. It's all over the place. I did not trim the brass since it was not over 1.760. I did measure the bullets thinking it was that but I was only seeing a change of 0.003-4. Not the 0.01 change I was seeing.

So I got on here and a search what Google hit on but guys were saying they are getting small changes to .005-9 not .01-2.

Thoughts?

Press is a Less single stage
RCBS SB full die and Bullet seating
Lyman Full sizer die and Bullet seating die

I did notice the Lyman's bullet seating guide (the part that actually touches the bullet) sat deeper on the bullet vs the RCBS being smaller (grabs at closer to the tip vs Lyman)

markm
07-09-14, 10:15
Brass length has no impact on COAL.

Also, you CAN NOT measure COAL with OTM bullets. The meplat (hollow tips) are never uniform and the bullets themselves are different lengths.

I absolutely do not measure match ammo for consistent OAL, because it's a waste of time. I take a 3-4 round average OAL measurement to ensure they're mag length at around 2.250" +/-.008" or so and run the mothers out!

caporider
07-09-14, 10:21