PDA

View Full Version : Lightest NIJ IV system

m1a convert
07-10-14, 08:05
What is either the lightest LVL 4 stand alone or in conjunction system currently available? Cost is not a factor.

markm
07-10-14, 08:40
There's some cat selling a pair of NIJ IV super light plates in the EE. They're mediums if that helps at all.

CoryCop25
07-10-14, 10:22
I'm not an expert on hard armor but I have a set from Dimondback Tactical and they are nice….. but pricey.

TehLlama
07-10-14, 12:10
I suspect it's the Safariland ProTec plates in the minimal surface area cut - the .75" thick flavor. That said, in terms of practical effectiveness, pretty much any good soft armor (probably HDPE based) and a very thin Lvl4 plate is probably better.

krisjon
07-10-14, 14:43
I'd say Velocity BZs are pretty damn light and $$$.

superr.stu
07-10-14, 17:17
Money no option I'd vote Velocity BZs.

http://store.appalachiantraining.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=VS-PBZ-LG

m1a convert
07-10-14, 22:52
Those aren't lvl iv though

krisjon
07-10-14, 23:15
Those aren't lvl iv though

BZs more than meet the Level IV spec by taking two hits of AP, instead of one. They simply don't have the "official" NIJ cert.

m1a convert
07-10-14, 23:40
and that is in conjunction with soft armor, correct? How do they take 2 AP rounds and not meet NIJ?

krisjon
07-11-14, 00:09
and that is in conjunction with soft armor, correct? How do they take 2 AP rounds and not meet NIJ?

Yes, those are ICW plates. NIJ cert means they meet a specific standard of testing. It's the recognized standard, but it is also a minimum standard. While not NIJ tested, the BZs were developed as a special lightweight threat plate and tested to withstand 2 AP incendiary rounds - pretty impressive and well beyond most threats anyone would face INCONUS. They're pretty much the cat's meow right now for plates, but like any gear, that's always up for debate.

Defaultmp3
07-11-14, 09:01