PDA

View Full Version : Dumb Question of the Month: Setting Up the Sling

MistWolf
07-19-14, 22:08
I've been playing around with the modern AR for three years now, a short time compared to when my father first taught me to shoot as a wee lad and had gun magazines as my earliest reading primers. Although Dad had a few ARs while I was growing up, they were SP101s and were the only ARs commonly available. Slinging an AR meant attaching a strap from FSB to the toe of the buttstock. This arrangement works pretty well with bolt action rifles but add a 20 round mag and a pistol grip and it starts off uncomfortable and only gets worse from there. The many miles I've hiked with M14s, FALs and the AR during hunts was with the sling left back in camp.

I was very resistant to the modern sling configuration as I'd been raised to use the muzzle up carry. But I gave it a try with my first modern AR and had to grudgingly admit there was something to what, back in the day, they called the "South African Carry". You know- Sling around behind the neck and under the off arm, rifle hangs muzzle down in front.
http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n289/SgtSongDog/AR%20Carbine/Sling001_zps20524c4b.jpg

To achieve the South African Carry, I set my rifle up so the from sling swivel attaches at the front of the handguard or at the FSB on the left side
http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n289/SgtSongDog/AR%20Carbine/DSC_0109_zpseed72eaf.jpg

and on the right side of the buttstock near the heel.
http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n289/SgtSongDog/AR%20Carbine/Sling008_zps57c62ed4.jpg

It's a much more comfortable way to carry a rifle with an extended mag and pistol grip than the conventional method, although I have to run the sling real loose or pull my arm out to make mag changes because I've got long arms.

"Look Ma! Mag flip!
http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n289/SgtSongDog/AR%20Carbine/Sling006_zpsb5976046.jpg