PDA

View Full Version : Glock model 23 modifications

Arthur
08-02-14, 20:23
Hello. I'm new to this forum but have gleaned advice from the posts for a while. I'm also new to modifying firearms, so please have patience with me if some of my ideas seem unnecessary or wacky. That is in fact why I'm posting the ideas I've been throwing around inside my head. To that end, I think you need to understand a little about me. I have an overall knowledge of how the firearm functions, but I do not understand the inner workings very well. Also, I am working towards a degree in Mechanical Engineering, so concepts like stress, forces, failure all make sense to me. Also, I have noticed that posts like this are responded to with requests regarding the use of the firearm. This firearm is my SHTF combat pistol. That's it. I already own a carry gun, a Taurus M85UL in .38 special that serves me well for concealed carry. So, I have a few questions regarding the modifications I want to make.

1. Will any of the modifications work against themselves?
2. Are any of them unnecessary and why?
3. Are there any I'm not thinking of that I should be doing considering the ones I want to make?

So, now that I've talked ya'lls ears off, here's what I'm planning. I'm starting with a completely stock Glock model 23 gen 3 with night sights front and back.

I want to install the following:
-.40 Cal Carver/KKM 3 or 4 port Compensator (I'm not sure what the functional difference would be between the 3 and 4 port compensator, however, I do know the overall effect that a compensator is supposed to have)
http://w.iwebcenters.com/bbenterprise2/ecommerce/comps-barrels-glock-xdm-s-w-m-p/glock/glock-compensators/40-cal-comp-barrel-combo-s/gen-3-4-40-cal-carver-kkm-4-port-comp-barrel.cfm
-Extended slide release
-Vickers extended magazine release
-Grip force Adapter
-Zev Tech Titanium Pin Kit
http://www.glockworx.com/Detail.aspx?PROD=156035&CAT=3688
-Titanium Ejector