PDA

View Full Version : Question about extreme spread or deviation

rcoodyar15
08-16-14, 17:26
Ok I got my croney working today.

Shooting MK 69 gr. my best 10 shot string had an average velocity of 2729 extreme spread of 30 and a deviation of 13.78

Is that about average?

Now my worst string had an extreme spread of 50.

I don't know if it was my shooting or the deviation but my best group had the lowest deviation.

I am trying to get consistent 1/2" groups at 100 yd

What causes the difference in velocity? I know variation in powder charge, neck tension, case volume and probably others

But what is the major one? If you picked out cases with near the same velocities would that help? or are they just as likely to have a different velocity next time.

Probably just overanalyzing this thing but that is what I do. I am an engineer and unfortunately I am tormented by the grey.

bigedp51
08-16-14, 19:51
What type rifle, caliber and powder are you using?

rcoodyar15
08-17-14, 04:23
What type rifle, caliber and powder are you using?

homemade AR15, match grade .223 wilde barrel, these loads were CFE223

T2C
08-17-14, 08:10
What causes the difference in velocity? I know variation in powder charge, neck tension, case volume and probably others

But what is the major one? If you picked out cases with near the same velocities would that help? or are they just as likely to have a different velocity next time.

You are on the right track. If you sorted your cases by manufacturer and year, it might make a difference. Some of the bench rest shooters measure case volume with alcohol and sort them accordingly.

You bring up a good point about neck tension. I normally don't crimp rifle reloads for target shooting, but I have had a few loads that were more consistent/accurate with a slight crimp.

I believe that primers have an effect on consistency of velocity, and only the company who made them has control over quality.