PDA

View Full Version : Whats a good exercise for weak upper arm (difficulty holding AR when changing mag)

Ledanek
08-18-14, 23:02
I'm 40-achoo! years old with just stretching exercises for my sciatica as a routine.
After taking a Tactical Rifle class, I realized it's difficult for me to keep my AR up while doing Tactical Reloads.
I tried tucking the stock in my armpits, but, that's not good enough.

Please recommend a good exercise (besides doing some chicken-wings with the AR) that's not too strenuous for this aging member :p

thanks

Leaveammoforme
08-18-14, 23:59
I am by no means an expert or even a novice when it comes to this, so take this loosely.

What about holding your rifle by your side with arm straight by the pistol grip only. Then lift stock up to your your arm pit, then raise rifle into a firing position and hold. Then repeat in reverse back down to your side. Seems to me that would target the exact muscles that need addressed.

WillBrink
08-19-14, 09:08
I'm 40-achoo! years old with just stretching exercises for my sciatica as a routine.
After taking a Tactical Rifle class, I realized it's difficult for me to keep my AR up while doing Tactical Reloads.

Please recommend a good exercise (besides doing some chicken-wings with the AR) that's not too strenuous for this aging member :p

thanks

You need to do the same stuff everyone needs to keep for upper body strength to help keep basic strength: Standing presses, push ups, chin ups, etc. If you're having trouble holding an AR during mag changes as a 40 year old male (unless there's some serious medical condition you're not mentioning) you're going to be at serious risk of sarcopenia (age related loss of muscle) and other ills best avoided if you're that weak now.

tylerw02
08-20-14, 08:34
You need to seek fitness instruction from a qualified trainer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ledanek
08-21-14, 22:39