PDA

View Full Version : Awesomely easy and effective water filter

krisjon
08-26-14, 19:37
Care of Tracker Dan:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wq0CK-zfhkk#t=176

X-man2112
09-01-14, 20:44
Great video everybody should be viewing this.

RUSKI
09-01-14, 21:23
Good stuff.

SeriousStudent
09-01-14, 21:30
That is useful knowledge. And like they say, knowledge trumps gear.

Thanks for the post.

dogfoot
01-13-15, 21:24
Warning:
I treat surface water for a living.
This is a great idea for suspended turbidity/particle removal but does nonething for disinfection.
Texas uses chlorine, chlorine dioxide or ozone as primary disenfectant. You have to kill the bugs: giaridia / viruses.
To be totally safe, use plane Jane bleach or boil and you are good to go after the filtering.
Or spend the money and get a good water filter that gets the bugs out.
I have used a Katadyn in boondocks for years and have never got sick. Money well spent.

be safe
Dog

markm
01-14-15, 07:59
War

I have used a Katadyn in boondocks for years and have never got sick. Money well spent.

I have that Katadyn Pocket Filter. Built like a tank. I've never had the chance to use it though.

ra2bach
02-06-15, 12:25
nice idea but you're not going to filter out the creepy crawlies with that, though there is some good discussion on which is worse - bad water or dehydration. not all water you find in the wild is bad, it's just a very wise thing to treat is as so.

in a true survival situation where you're confident of your return to civilization in a couple days, you're probably better off dealing with the immediate hydration issues, and dealing with the medical ones at home.