PDA

View Full Version : Trigger replacement for Colt AR LE920

telebooger
09-15-14, 11:09
I'm fairly new to the AR world but have been shooting for 40 years or so, mostly bolt guns and handguns. The trigger that came with my Colt is, from my experience, unacceptable. It has lots of creep and then a medium heavy pull. I can tolerate a heavy trigger pull, but a crisp trigger is necessary. What kind of trigger replacements can you recommend? Does anyone else think their trigger in this rifle is terrible?
Thanks

one
09-15-14, 11:12
The 6920 I bought over a year ago had a pretty decent trigger in it. Surprised me. On the other hand a friend of mine just got a Colt Magpul edition a couple of weeks ago and it's trigger was markedly different in her gun than in mine. Nowhere near as good. So there's some variations in feel or fit coming down the line.

Personally I'm a Geissele user now. I think it's what you'll get the most responses towards in this forum and others. http://geissele.com/

Onyx Z
09-15-14, 11:29
Do a search for Geissele. Best AR triggers out there.

MistWolf
09-15-14, 12:01
Before replacing the current trigger, pull it out, clean the parts, lube the sears, the pin holes and the bottom curve of the hammer with grease and re-install. Sometimes, the grease makes enough difference that you can live with the trigger. If it doesn't, get the Geissele G2S or SSA. Both are two stage triggers with a good break at a pull weight that's just heavy enough for defense work. The G2S is more economical than the SSA and the pull maybe not quite as clean.

The SSA-E has a crisper break but lighter pull than the SSA but costs more. I don't think it's worth the difference unless you're putting the SSA-E in a precision rifle.