PDA

View Full Version : Looking for an AR, and advice

LDB
09-16-14, 20:04
I plan to buy an AR as soon as I make up my mind what I want. I hope to learn a lot here to supplement what I've learned elsewhere and make a final decision. Some info to hopefully help get some suggestions and input. I like shooting but don't care so much for cleaning/inspecting. I don't like recoil and would like to find a rifle that is similar to my 10/22 although I know it can't be that soft shooting. I have no real AR experience other than researching/shopping. I want a rifle to enjoy for the next 10-20 years or however long I have left to enjoy it and then pass it along to my grandson who just turned 1 this summer when he graduates college.

I have a lot of astigmatism so shorter ranges are better than long range. Due to the intolerable weather I'll likely shoot it at the air conditioned indoor 25 yard range during the hot months. When it's tolerable I'll go to the outdoor range to shoot 50 and 100 yards and maybe 200 once in a while. I doubt I have the vision for more than 200 yards.

I've been leaning toward a long stroke gas piston rifle based on believing it is softer shooting and much cleaner shooting than a DI rifle. Recently I've been told it's only a little softer shooting and no cleaner, by some people. I'd like to have a 16" to 20" barrel, iron sights and some sort of optic. I'd like to work with a $1500 budget if possible. I stopped in a shop today that has Daniel Defense as their main line. They are DI guns and mid length gas systems according to the DD website although the guy there told me it was a rifle length gas system.

So, enough rambling. That's the not quite so short version of what I hope to achieve. I look forward to any and all advice you guys will share and to what I can learn here.

Onyx Z
09-16-14, 20:11
This BCM should serve you well:

http://www.gandrtactical.com/cgi-bin/commerce.cgi?preadd=action&key=750-780

With Daniel Defense a VERY close second.