PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for a 14.5 upper

TexanInCali
09-19-14, 14:48
Hi all,

I'm considering what to get as an upper for my second AR. My first is a BCM SS410 16" KMR upper with a lower I assembled myself. I've been very pleased with it.

I have another stripped lower I'd like to build up. So far, my inclination is to go with a Noveske 14.5 Afghan upper.

Honestly, I don't have a particular mission or purpose for this build. As I'm fairly new to ARs, I want to try out different brands and general configurations to gain experience. The main reason for considering a 14.5 is simply to try a shorter setup without straying into NFA territory.

I'd appreciate any suggestions for other brands I might try. I'd like to try something besides BCM, simply to try out other quality brands. I'm willing to spend up to $2,000 on just the upper. I realize that's high, but I'll spend it if need be.

Thanks,
T

Sasahara
09-19-14, 15:03
Hi all,

I'm considering what to get as an upper for my second AR. My first is a BCM SS410 16" KMR upper with a lower I assembled myself. I've been very pleased with it.

I have another stripped lower I'd like to build up. So far, my inclination is to go with a Noveske 14.5 Afghan upper.

Honestly, I don't have a particular mission or purpose for this build. As I'm fairly new to ARs, I want to try out different brands and general configurations to gain experience. The main reason for considering a 14.5 is simply to try a shorter setup without straying into NFA territory.

I'd appreciate any suggestions for other brands I might try. I'd like to try something besides BCM, simply to try out other quality brands. I'm willing to spend up to $2,000 on just the upper. I realize that's high, but I'll spend it if need be.

Thanks,
T

Thats some budget you have for just an upper. Why not just go for it and grab a KAC then? Plenty left over for an optic.

joeyjoe
09-19-14, 15:30