PDA

View Full Version : General purpose bolt gun as a back up to my 308 AR

Faultline
09-20-14, 16:21
I have consolidated my armory to .308 and I am looking for a quality, sub $800.00 bolt gun in 308 with iron sights. This would be a back up to my MWS. The main features I am Looking for are:

<22" barrel
Iron sights
Reliability
3-4 Moa accuracy or better with ball ammo
Light weight (< 9lbs)

I plan to put a medium priced 1-4 variable with capped turrets on it and my application would be 25-400 yds, field positions shooting.

I have looked at the savage hog hunter and the mossberg mvp patrol ( don't really care about detachable mags) but I am curious if there are other options out there that meet my needs? I am pretty new to bolt guns. Any info would be great!

Bluto
09-20-14, 18:11
Ruger scout
http://ruger.com/products/gunsiteScoutRifle/models.html

waveslayer
09-20-14, 21:31
Remington 700

roadsterjosh
09-20-14, 21:49
Mossberg MVP patrol model. It uses Sr25 and m1a magazines, and assuming your 308 ar is an sr25 pattern, not an armalite ar10, it uses magazines you already have in abundance. The action is robust, and stupid simple. It has williams firesights that are easy to pick up, and quickly get on target.
There is also the Savage hog hunter, which my wife absolutely loves. The rifle is pretty sweet, and has very good irons. The only reason I didn't go with it was for the magazines. My wife bought one as her hunting rifle, though neither my mvp nor her savage have glass mounted as of yet. We both shoot them under 3 inches at 50 yards with irons.

jesuvuah
09-20-14, 21:57
Mossberg MVP patrol model. It uses Sr25 and m1a magazines, and assuming your 308 ar is an sr25 pattern, not an armalite ar10, it uses magazines you already have in abundance. The action is robust, and stupid simple. It has williams firesights that are easy to pick up, and quickly get on target.