PDA

View Full Version : Any MTB riders out there?

rushca01
10-03-14, 17:35
I've spent almost 100% of my bike time on a road bike and a buddy and I are going to get into MTB riding. We decided on 29er hardtails do mostly to our local terrain etc.. Through all my years on a road bike I have only crashed once and it was my own and very embarrassing fault. I walked away er rode away with no injury to me or the bike just my ego. My buddy who rode MTBs before getting in road racing said he crashed 29 times in one season of riding on a MTB! Never serious, just bumps and bruises. Sounds exciting....!

I bought a yeti big top that has all SRAM XO components. Can't wait to get out and ride.

So who else rides?

An Undocumented Worker
10-03-14, 20:32
Hell yeah, Just got back from a trip to Moab, most amazing place ever, I've been riding for 18 years and still came away from moab a better rider than I was before. Anyhow just understand that if you aren't crashing every once and a while you aren't riding hard enough. Lean the bike more than you lean yourself, point with your belly button through the turns and if you let your eyes fixate on that which you wish to avoid you will hit it.

williejc
10-03-14, 20:35
Does your bike have a motor?

brickboy240
10-04-14, 12:54
Long time MTB guy here.

Have two older Gary Fisher 26" bikes that have been upgraded over the years. I also have a 26" full suspension KHS that I ride now and then. Still not totally sold on full suspension - complicated and somewhat heavy.

I really want to try a 29-er but with a 30" inseam...I am worried the bikes might seem a tad tall.

-brickboy240

chuckman
10-04-14, 14:58