PDA

View Full Version : Precision Reloading and Case Length

STAMarine
10-10-14, 14:46
I have a McMillan tactical rifle chambered in .308 that I will be reloading for. I have been saving my brass for years, but I am just getting started in reloading. I know that my brass is fire formed to my rifle's chamber. My reloaded rounds will be fired only in this rifle. I will only be neck sizing the brass. Because of this, do I still need to worry about case length?

T2C
10-10-14, 15:26
I have a McMillan tactical rifle chambered in .308 that I will be reloading for. I have been saving my brass for years, but I am just getting started in reloading. I know that my brass is fire formed to my rifle's chamber. My reloaded rounds will be fired only in this rifle. I will only be neck sizing the brass. Because of this, do I still need to worry about case length?

I would. If the case length is longer than the maximum recommended specification, when a round is chambered the case mouth could be crimped a little tighter by the chamber just behind the free bore, which would cause a change in neck tension and point of impact. My Hornady reloading books warn there could be a problem with overpressure when loading close to or at maximum charge weights.

I neck size and trim the brass to the same length each time I load for precision shooting.

Airhasz
10-10-14, 15:54
Measure spent cases, if stretched trim them to size.

STAMarine
10-10-14, 17:16
Thanks guys. Its time to order a case trimmer.

markm
10-11-14, 18:34
I rarely address case length for precision bolt gun ammo. I picked up on this from one of the OG's on accurateshooter.com. This post will set the "by the book", beaten silly as a child for coloring outside the lines, gauge everything faggots' asses on fire. But if you have your sizing die set up right, you really don't have to be fanatical about case length. And I've NEVER found uniform case length to improve accuracy at all.