PDA

View Full Version : Explanation of all the variations of AR15/M4's

Dastook
06-20-08, 11:52
Can anyone suggest a good article that explains all, or many of the different varieties of AR 15/M16/M4. I am fairly new to the AR platform. I love all of the things you can do with it but am having trouble understanding all of the terminology that is displayed by the very knowledgeable members of this forum. For instance. I do not know the differences between the AR15 and the M4, and don't know what makes it an A2 or A1 etc. I'm going crazy trying to take it all in.

Frens
06-20-08, 12:05
Can anyone suggest a good article that explains all, or many of the different varieties of AR 15/M16/M4. I am fairly new to the AR platform. I love all of the things you can do with it but am having trouble understanding all of the terminology that is displayed by the very knowledgeable members of this forum. For instance. I do not know the differences between the AR15 and the M4, and don't know what makes it an A2 or A1 etc. I'm going crazy trying to take it all in.

here is a good starting point

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M16_rifle

btw, M16/M4 is used when talking about military/fullauto weapons: everything else is a AR15 (M16gery/M4gery)

C4IGrant
06-20-08, 12:11

Generally speaking the term "M4" refers to the barrel profile (as it is setup to accept a grenade launcher). A civy M4 and an AR15 are almost identical and the two terms are generally inter-mixed by most people.

An A1 receiver is a fixed carry handle without the elevation wheel for the rear sight. An A2 receiver is a fixed carry handle WITH the elevation wheel for the rear sight. An M4 receiver is a flattop with M4 cuts in it to line up with a M4 barrel extension.

C4

Failure2Stop
06-20-08, 13:56
Generic Military designations

M16- The original. Triangular handguards; three-prong flash suppressor; safe, semi, auto; fixed carrying handle; battle sights; 1:12 twist rate; 20" barrel