PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else excited about the Steiner T5XI 1-5x?

JoshNC
10-25-14, 08:50
I have been sitting on the fence regarding a 1-x optic for about two years. I've been considering the Leupy mk8 cqbss, Leupy mk6 1-6 with TMR-D reticle, Kahles k16i, and Trijicon VCOG.

I was following the discussion on SH (the old site) about the soon to be released Steiner T5xi series - made in the US, same glass as the M5xi line, and some nice turret features.

The 1-5x looks great and appears to be at a very competitive price point. I think I am finally ready to get off the fence.

http://mobile.eurooptic.com/steiner-t5xi-1-5x24-riflescope-762-reticle-mpn-5102.aspx

n517rv
10-25-14, 08:56
It says the "reticle position" is "second"... I assume that means it's second focal plane and not FFP, is that correct?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Oldurn
10-25-14, 10:04
I really like Steiner, but their pricing is all over the place, and apparently they aren't too skilled at red dot style illumination yet.

jstalford
10-25-14, 22:48
I want to be excited but I keep going back to the Kahles K15i / K16i. Little more expensive but seems a bit better on paper at least.

I guess we'll see. I have been in the same boat and am totally ready to get off the fence but nothing has quite pushed me off yet.

SuaSponte175
10-25-14, 23:22
It says the "reticle position" is "second"... I assume that means it's second focal plane and not FFP, is that correct?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

You are correct, the reticle is second focal plane.

jwfuhrman
10-26-14, 08:42
Burris owns Steiner now from my understanding(or vice versa). The Burris XTR-II line of optics is more or less Steiner glass. The 1-5 XTR-II is impressive. They also supposedly have a 1-8 & 2-10 and more.

Unreconstructed
10-26-14, 22:04
Burris owns Steiner now from my understanding(or vice versa).

Actually, Beretta owns both Steiner and Burris.

Alex V
10-27-14, 09:18