PDA

View Full Version : Accuracy and target size

Charles
06-26-08, 18:01
The thread on Pointshooting has once again shown that most have no real understanding of just what it is that stops someone in a gunfight, and how big that target is. I believe that it is very important to have a basic understanding of anatomy, terminal ballistics, and shot placement in order to possess a realistic outlook on training and "real life". Those things are important because they directly fuel our weapon selection, cartridge selection, and our training and accuracy standards.

I took a few minutes to doodle a bit and snap some pictures that I hope will help. First- I am not a Doctor. I am a Shooter. In that vain I'm going to try to keep this KISS! (any remarks about me being simple and stupid will be punished!!! :D ) Any MD's are more then welcome to correct any mistakes....

What Exactly Stops Someone in a Gunfight?

Bullets can "stop" an adversary in several ways. The major ones include- disruption of the Central Nervous System (CNS), Hemorrhaging (bleeding), Asphyxia (suffocation), Physical (mobility), and Psychological. The only ones we can reliably effect are the first two. Notice, that those two result in death. While it may not be PC or fashionable in this day and age to point that out, the reality is, is thats exactly what we have to do to reliably "stop" someone.

Handgun rounds do not have the tissue disruption capability to effect the major structures that control our mobility, IE. the large bones of the legs and the Pelvic Girdle. Even if they could break them, it does little to make them less of a threat if the have a firearm. Additionally, I am told, it is not unusual for women giving birth to have a complete break of one of the pelvic bones, and then walk out of the hospital.
Psychological is even more out of our hands, in that it has absolutely nothing to do with us! It's all in the person being shot at saying-"Crap! I've been shot" and giving up.