PDA

View Full Version : Practice Range at Home - What would you want?

MeanStreaker
12-23-14, 09:37
I have a very large (tall and wide) natural hillside backstop on my property. I'd like your advice for what you would set up to help me noodle through my plans - especially what size, shape, and number of steel targets I should acquire. It's pretty easy to haul paper down to the woods. Since this will be steel focused, it will primarily be for pistol practice, although if I do my research and can find the right steel, I'll use it for 5.56 too occasionally.

I'm just beginning to research manufacturers, but this place seems cost effective: www.moatargets.com/ (http://www.moatargets.com/index.php?route=common/home)

25 yards and in is easily doable. 40 yards is doable if I cross the creek, and I could probably get 100 yards if I chainsaw out some rifle shooting lanes.

1) What different steel targets (size, shape, quantity) should I keep out there permanently?

2) In what configuration would you want those steel targets? Why (meaning what drills would you focus on)?

3) Anything else helpful I should consider? I think it would be pretty easy to rig up some cable and pulleys and maybe have cardboard come moving down the hillside...

MBtech
12-23-14, 18:20
I'm kind of in exactly the same boat as you are, I have 100+ yards out back and I am wanting to do the same thing. I have an old swingset frame of my kids I plan on hanging targets from, maybe a larger target in the center with smaller ones on the sides I can use with both pistol and rifle. I would want other targets set out spaced apart and at several different distances to transition from. As far as spacing and drills I'm not sure about, I'll check with a couple of my instructors for advice on that. I know I plan on buying quality steel targets that will last me. I have been looking at some of these...

http://lvsteeltargets.com/