PDA

View Full Version : Newb advice needed - Long distance gun and hunting rifle

skywalkrNCSU
12-23-14, 13:38
I am new to both the hunting world and the long distance shooting world but I would like to get into both and with the same rifle if possible. I know little to nothing about bolt guns and I see drastically different prices among different guns and could use some advice. It looks like a good caliber option would be 300 WSM as my research shows it performs well in distance shooting and would be more than adequate in taking down deer (would be what I hunt most) along with elk (a dream hunt that I hope to take in a few years).

Where I could use some advice is I am looking for something that I could upgrade as I go rather than spending a bunch on a custom rig right off the bat. Is that even possible with bolt guns? I would say my budget without optics is around $1500 (the lower the better obviously) and I haven't really seen a custom build anywhere near this low but there are plenty of decent hunting rifles for well under this amount. I am willing to sacrifice some weight for performance since the only time I would be lugging it around is on the dream elk hunt since most of my deer hunting would be on 100 acres.

I am not really sure where to start, should I just get an off the shelf hunting rifle and change the barrel, trigger, and stock as I go or buy a barreled action and stock and have someone install it for me? Am I way off on all of this and should I just get a hunting rifle for hunting and when I can afford a long distance rig get a custom built rifle? Apologies for the ignorance here, any advice is appreciated.

Servo
12-23-14, 16:13