PDA

View Full Version : question on ammo

ubet
01-14-15, 12:38
I was reading another thread on here and had a few questions and didnt want to derail the thread. Their was talk of using heavier bullets and the 55fmj being cheap (which I have damn sure noticed), my question is for just practice what do you guys use? Is it straight heavy bullets no matter what, or is that just for accuracy, or for better performance down range. I am new to ars, but have a lot of time behind precision bolt guns so I get the heavier bullets for accuracy and stability downrange. Is the 55fmj bulk stuff fine for practice and drills or is it better to spend a little more coin and get a heavier grain. If so, what grain? My rifle is a 6920

Ryno12
01-14-15, 12:41
I load my blaster ammo with 55gr FMJs & precision stuff with 77SMKs.

ReRun
01-14-15, 12:55
I load my blaster ammo with 55gr FMJs & precision stuff with 77SMKs.

+1

I buy bulk 55 to shoot regularly and use the 77 for precision and HD.

Kain
01-14-15, 12:57
55gr and sometimes 62 gr(Not necessarily M855) for range practice, getting on paper, or dicking around ect. Heavier grain stuff for HD, precision, ect.

ubet
01-14-15, 13:02
Ok, thanks, that cleared a lot of things up! I had been running some bulk 55fmj from freedom munitions through it, I know its not accurate, but figured for practice and stuff like that it was good enough. I can make offhand hits with it at 300yds on a 20x14 steel.

Whats some good hd stuff to look into? Are you guys rolling your own or buying it?

7.62NATO
01-14-15, 13:06

SilverCat
01-14-15, 13:07
I primarily use 62gr 855, but sometimes resort to misc .223 loads for practice.

T2C
01-14-15, 13:08
I shoot a lot of 55g and 62g ammunition for training purposes. If it will shoot 3 MOA out to 300 Meters and is reasonably priced (cheap), I'll use it.

markm
01-14-15, 13:18