PDA

View Full Version : Current soft armor only options?

mashir
01-25-15, 18:10
Hi all,

I've been looking and searching for something to provide a little protection for range time, IDPA matches, and general use, and have focused in on the idea of soft armor (level III) being all the protection I would need. Admittedly I'm new to this, so if you all feel I'm wrong about something let me know.

I would ideally like a carrier with MOLLE for M4 mag pouch attachment so I could replace my chest rig, but it seems that there are no current set ups for BALCS cut armor (my initial thought for what to use) which have this feature. Seems like First Spear and Eagle are both no longer making such systems. So the question is this: is there a product that holds soft armor only like the old Eagle CIRAS, and has MOLLE, or could I run just soft plates in another PC like the Mayflower APC? I have searched pretty extensively for this and as of yet can't find something that would be level III (providing mobility and weight savings) and have attachment points. If there were something like the new Paraclete LVBC with MOLLE attachments, it would be perfect.

So, help me out with your collective knowledge, what do you all think would be best for me?

Thanks in advance!

mashir
01-26-15, 12:00
I know there's enough collective knowledge here to help me out!

In quick summary, what options are there for a soft armor/BALCS carrier with MOLLE attachments? Or can/should I run a PC with plate backers only?

ra2bach
01-26-15, 12:50
Mayflower LPAC or LPAAC. both will take your soft armor, and plates if you want to add them. second one is full molle, first one is not. both with use the SwiftClip system for adding a rig..

jparish62
01-26-15, 12:57
Also, from the sound of it, you're looking for NIJ level IIIA as opposed to level III. Level III would be hard armor for rifle up to and including 7.62 NATO. Level IIIA is for most common pistol rounds and fragmentation (ie. 9mm-44 mag plus frag).

mashir