PDA

View Full Version : Donuts, Unpowdered

STAMarine
01-28-15, 14:35
I have just started reloading in the past few months, so I'm still learning what everyone else already knows. I've done a search for an answer to my question and I haven't found it yet.

I have what I believe from descriptions I've read a problem with donuts forming after sizing. To make sure I'm using the correct term, what I have is a bulge at the junction of the case neck and shoulder.

I have sized Federal, Lake City, and Winchester .223 and 5.56 brass. Each piece is once fired. A donut, or at least a bulge if I'm using the wrong term, appears on every piece. I am using Hornady Custom Grade .223 dies.

I'm thinking I might have my die set up improperly, but I can't seem to get rid of the bulge.

How do I get rid of the bulge?

taliv
01-28-15, 14:41
is the bulge on the inside or outside?
how far down are you sizing?

SkyLine1
01-28-15, 14:50
Not enough lube on the case perhaps.

With your press fully to the top of the stroke is your die touching the shell plate or is there a ton of resistance at the top of the stroke?

markm
01-28-15, 15:01
I've only had the dreaded donut when I dabbled in bushing dies. A pic might help out.

STAMarine
01-28-15, 15:03
There really isn't any resistance until I raise the ram and the case is pulled out of the die. I expected more resistance on sizing, but since I have no prior experience, I have nothing to compare it to.

The shell holder doesn't touch the die. I have it adjusted per the instructions (screw in until it touches the shell holder, then back out).

STAMarine
01-28-15, 15:04
I'll try to get a pic up after work today.

SkyLine1
01-28-15, 15:34
Lube? What lube are you using and what brand of die?.

Do you have the vent hole covered up by your decaper pin/neck sizer?

STAMarine
01-28-15, 15:46
I'm using One Shot for lube. The dies are Hornady Custom Grade .223 dies

soulezoo
01-28-15, 15:46
From the thread title I thought we going to be discussing food.