PDA

View Full Version : Favorite 150gr 30cal hunting bullets for accuracy?

opngrnd
01-29-15, 19:11
I went out today to shoot my standard Remington 700 30-06 that I hope to get a deer with next year. I'm new to shooting past 100 yards for most purposes. My load was 150 grain Hornady Soft Points over 50 grains of Varget with Fed Match primers. FPS is a little under 2800. The bullets came free with Hornady purchases, so their use wasn't necessarily intentional. I was just hoping to get some trigger time on the rifle. Target looked like this at 350. A hair under 6 inches, not bad I was thinking.

I was wondering what you other hunters are using for accurate 150 grain bullets. It's tempting to go for accuracy alone, but I don't want to wound an animal and have it run off. This is a new area of reloading for me, so I appreciate the info or experience anyone would like to share.

LDM
01-31-15, 07:33
I've had good results from Hornady SST for a while now, but this year I went to Nosler Accubond.
Both are very good on deer sized animals.
I have not shot a hog with the Accubond, but I suspect it would perform well.

HKGuns
01-31-15, 08:31
Hornady SST 150's here as well, I dropped one DRT at 230 yards with my Sako .308 using them.

opngrnd
01-31-15, 10:41
Thanks for the replies. I'm pretty sure I saw a box of both SSTs and Accubonds locally, so I'll pick up a box of each and give it a try. Either one has much better BC than the Interlock bullets I'm using right now.

Malig8r
02-01-15, 22:34
I really like the Nosler Accubonds; I get .5 moa with them out of my Tikka. Haven't tried the Hornady so I cannot comment on those.

HKGuns
02-01-15, 23:44
I really like the Nosler Accubonds; I get .5 moa with them out of my Tikka. Haven't tried the Hornady so I cannot comment on those.

Yes, I loaded a hunting specific 16X gr load using them but haven't had a chance to shoot them. They are supposed to be excellent as well.

opngrnd
02-02-15, 18:58