PDA

View Full Version : QD or not QD? New guy needs advice.

Hemi45
02-12-15, 21:06
I'm new to optics but I've recently picked up two, a Leupold Mark AR Mod 1 and an Aimpoint PRO. I have a Colt 6920 Magpul package with fold down rear and fixed front post. This is my first AR and though there are endless ways to trick these dang things out, I want to keep it stock so that limits me to the small rail atop the receiver.

I *think* I'd enjoy the ease of QD, allowing me to quickly/easily swap one for the other while out shooting. If it matters this gun doesn't have a specific purpose - just my first AR and one I'm looking forward to learning on. Also, my local range is only 100 yards so I was thinking to zero the scope at 100 and the red dot at 50.

Any thoughts on a mounting system to go with or is QD much ado about nothing and I'm better off with a fixed mount for each?

Being new to all this, I appreciate any practical advice. It's also entirely possible I've overlooked something very obvious so please set me straight if that's the case.

Many thanks!

4thPointOfContact
02-12-15, 21:19
With a quality mount, return-to-zero is pretty much guaranteed. Less expensive mounts will have a bit more slop in them, but aren't necessarily unusable.
I have a simple Burris MTAC/P.E.P.R. (http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/61xylzqvJCL.jpg) combo on my AR, with QD PEPR. I don't intend to change it out, but if it goes Tango Uniform, I want to be able to toss it without requiring any tools (anticipating that if i NEED to toss it, I need to do so right-fricking-now).

Kain
02-12-15, 21:45
Search around and I think you will find other threads discussing this.