PDA

View Full Version : 10-8 or Wilson Combat Vickers Sights for G19

acaixguard
02-19-15, 20:47
I am looking to replace the sights I have on my G19. I am now set on a U-notch rear with red fiber optic front, and decided this is the best setup for me. My G17 has the 10-8 setup of .140 rear with .115 red fiber front, which I absolutely love. The WC/LAV set intrigues me, but I do have a few questions for those who know...

1. How durable are the WC sights compared to the 10-8, which are melonited?

2. Does one offer a more crisp sight picture? In particular, I'm wondering how the recessed smooth around the U-notch of the WC's are.

3. The WC front sight has a .245 height, compared to the .215 of the 10-8. Will the RCS Phantom holster with a sight channel for standard height sights have enough clearance for taller front of the WC?

Thanks in advance!

KiloHotelWhiskey13
02-19-15, 21:06
I have no experience with the 10-8s but have the Wilson's on my LAV Glock 19 & like them so far. Sight picture is very crisp. When sighting the smooth area on the rear sight is not noticeable and they just funnel your eyes to the front sight. I carry a RCS Phantom as well and the Wilson's fit just fine.

kremtok
02-19-15, 23:30
In your original post, you state that you've found the optimal setup (I'm paraphrasing). Why change?

acaixguard
02-20-15, 15:07
The WC set is intriguing, in that I wonder if the design of the rear sight would allow for even faster focus to the front. Hopefully what the guy above said about it funneling the eyes to the front works for me as well. I also like the height of the overall set.

GUNSLINGER733
02-20-15, 19:19
10-8s work great for me. Never used WC sights. I'm not a fan of the extra deep u notch.

samuse
02-20-15, 23:08
I've used both on 1911s, they're pretty close.

10-8 is easier to use for racking on a holster or belt.

I like both, but prefer the 10-8 slightly.

Quick Stick
02-21-15, 06:17