PDA

View Full Version : Remington 700 SPS is a ADL or BDL

usmcchet9296
07-07-08, 17:42
I want to replace the crappy Houge stock on my 700 SPS I got but Im not sure if its a ADL or BDL rifle. From my only research ADL rifles didnt have a hinged floor plate yet my SPS does so does that make it a BDL or some kind of frankinstein-ish ADL/BDL combo
B&C makes a stock in my frugal price range but they werent sure if my rifle was ADL or BDL and I dont want to buy the wrong stock
Im sure one of you all know
sorry Im new to this bolt action thing

k9dpd
07-07-08, 18:34
The stock I just got from Bell and Carlson to replace my SPS stock was for a BDL

GONIF
07-07-08, 19:23
if memeroy serves, BDL has better finish,nicer wood stock,and a hinged floor plate. ADL is plain jane with no hinged floor plate.:D

usmcchet9296
07-07-08, 19:44
Thanks guys
your definately more helpfull than Remingtons website was

Damascus
07-17-08, 18:52
My competition rifle started as a Remington 700 SPS Varmint .308. Back when I bought it, I was looking for something that I could similarly turn into the rifle I had in the Army (M24), and I didn't want to spend the money on a 700P (the most widely used sniper rifle in the U.S.), because a lot of that money is for the HS Precision stock that comes on it, which I don't like the contour of. Luckily, I found out that the 700 SPS Varmint and Tactical use the exact same barreled action as the 700P, PSS, and variants. So, I bought mine and installed this stock: Bell & Carlson A5 Tactical w/ adjustable cheekpiece and full length aluminum bedding block. Check it out here, I got one in O.D. green w/ black spiderweb.
http://www.stockysstocks.com/servlet/the-108/Bell-%26-Carlson-A5/Detail