PDA

View Full Version : M4C Bowhunters

MBtech
03-05-15, 13:38
Gents, I'm sure there are some bow hunters and archers here on M4C and I'm curious to see what archery gear you all are using these days.

I'd be interested to see what the M4C community is using for bows, rest, sights, release, quiver, arrows, broadheads etc...Along with practice and training habbits.

I am a long time bowhunter, I have been shooting bows for nearly 27 years now. I have been using the same bow now for almost 9 years and have just been keeping my cables and strings changed on a regular basis. So I'm a little out of date on a lot of the new technology available.

So what are you guys running? Post any pros/cons and pics of your tried and true performing equipment.

These things seem to have been changing as fast as cell phones lately in the lase 10 years.

Thanks, and I look forward to all of your input.

masan
03-05-15, 17:05
Putting myself through college on a swimming scholarship has left me with very... finicky shoulders so for my home state I have switched over to using a crossbow.

Tenpoint Turbo XLTII and Rage CrossbowX mechanical broadheads on Tenpoint Carbon fiber arrows.

Pros: Accurate (the Tenpoint scope is dead on with its BDC type reticle), very fast, simple, so far seems very rugged
Cons: Expensive initial purchase, heavier than my compound setup

I keep my old Bowtech Admiral compound bow at my brothers place in Montana (cannot hunt with crossbows on Montana). I shot PSE for years when I was younger and switched to Bowtech after shooting my brothers. The bow is amazing AND forgiving for me since I don't get a lot of practice on it. I do keep my old PSE Fire Lite set up to practice with at home if I am able to draw a Montana tag.