PDA

View Full Version : Measuring headspace

P2000
04-02-15, 21:48
I'm brand new to reloading, with the goal of making precision reloads 223 for my mk-12ish rifle. I've finished reading the ABC's of reloading and have purchased a press, some dies, caliper and a few other things. Not quite enough equipment to start reloading.

I purchased a Hornady lock-n-load headspace comparator. It is the type that clamps onto a caliper on one of the jaws. Tonight I was setting up my Redding type S full length die, and I've been having difficulty getting precise measurements of headspace. Depending on how I hold the casing the numbers fluctuate by 1-2 thousandth, and there is a bit of fiddling to find the lowest value.

What method or tool do you use? I'm hoping there is a faster and more accurate tool.

Thanks for helping a noob.

masan
04-03-15, 10:24
The hornady tool works well, you need to rotate the case in the comparator to try and "square it up" in the comparator.

When I am setting up a die like you are, I will fire the case, neck size it only, reload it, then fire it again. This is the same process that I and others use when having custom dies made as well. The second firing will give you a truer read on your chamber dimensions. That said, you do not have to do this.

Simply use the lowest value reading you are getting from the comparator, then slowly adjust your seating die until you get the desired amount of shoulder bump. I have always been a huge believer in using shims with my seating dies to control shoulder bump (head space). Say you want a .003 bump, adjust your die, lock it down, only to find that somewhere along the line you ended up at .005? Just stick a .002 shim under it!

http://www.sinclairintl.com/reloading-equipment/reloading-dies/replacement-parts-amp-upgrades/skip-s-die-shim-kit-7-8-14--prod33197.aspx