PDA

View Full Version : Griffin Failsafe Offset BUIS

GO_ALLOUT
04-06-15, 12:48
Looking at various offset iron sights and came across the Griffin Gail Safe Sites listed on SKD Tactical...

Anyone have any experience or feedback on these?

VIP3R 237
04-06-15, 13:01
I have a LH set Ive been using for a few months and I really like them. They are solid and look pretty good.

GO_ALLOUT
04-06-15, 13:36
Any pics?

Also, how do you like their rear aperture?

VIP3R 237
04-06-15, 14:45
Any pics?

Also, how do you like their rear aperture?

Here's a quick picture I took on lunch. I like it, for my eyes its a good size.

https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8806/16870194018_48aee86751_z.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/rGL9W7)Untitled (https://flic.kr/p/rGL9W7)

sevenhelmet
04-06-15, 15:25
I've been considering a set of something like this for my SPR. What are your thoughts on:

1.) Left vs. Right offset?
2.) Weight vs. regular BUIS?
3.) How "catchy" they are on other gear- I'm chiefly concerned about this, which is what's kept me from looking further into it.

Thanks!

GH41
04-06-15, 15:28
I really wanted to like the fixed offsets but being fixed was a disadvantage to me. With my light offset on the left side and sights on the right the rifle was suddenly 4 inches wide. I went with the Troy folding sights and have been happy with them.

sevenhelmet
04-06-15, 15:29
I really wanted to like the fixed offsets but being fixed was a disadvantage to me. With my light offset on the left side and sights on the right the rifle was suddenly 4 inches wide. I went with the Troy folding sights and have been happy with them.

Traditional troy BUIS, or are they offset? I have a set of the Troy folding HK-style back-up irons and love them. Maybe this is a solution looking for a problem and I should leave well enough alone.

GO_ALLOUT
04-06-15, 15:30
For me...right handed so right side. I'm assuming VIP3R is a lefty...

Shouldn't be "catchy" as they'll be on the off side or far side, away from gear.