PDA

View Full Version : New handheld light

SteveL
04-10-15, 14:47
I am in the market for one or two new handheld lights and would like to keep the cost per light at or around $100 at maximum. I was perusing Surefire's site and a couple of different models jumped out at me:

G2X Tactical (http://www.surefire.com/illumination/flashlights/g2x-tactical.html)
G2ZX CombatLight (http://www.surefire.com/illumination/flashlights/g2zx-combatlight.html)

Both are in my general price range (or well below on Amazon), and offer the same light output and run time. They are also single output which is what I want. They both also have Nitrolon bodies, which I'm perfectly fine with.

The difference is that the CombatLight has the combat light shaped body. I have no experience with this type of light and wanted to find out what others think of them. Are they really easier to hold/use while holding a handgun, or is the shape a gimmick? Is the CombatLight worth the price difference?

These will be used for any and all types of household/vehicle/range/HD duty and may bounce back and forth between the nightstand, glove compartment, pants pocket, or HSG Taco. At some point they will be used in the heat, cold, and rain.

Is there anything else I should know or are there other lights I should consider before buying?

Thanks to anyone who can help.

MBtech
04-12-15, 10:38
I have a couple Streamlight Pro Tac HL lights, I really like them. I have one for work and one for home.

http://ads.midwayusa.com/product/915665/streamlight-protac-hl-flashlight-led-with-2-cr123a-batteries-aluminum-black?cm_mmc=pf_ci_google-_-pf_ci_google-_-pf_ci_google-_-pf_ci_google&gclid=CKuthouM8cQCFQsvaQoder0AQw

SteveL
04-12-15, 13:26
I have a couple Streamlight Pro Tac HL lights, I really like them. I have one for work and one for home.