PDA

View Full Version : Bushmaster- better 15 years ago?

FishTaco
04-28-15, 22:16
I have a Bushmaster 20" A2 (standard) that I bought around 2000. Being pre-ban, it's lacking a flash suppressor and bayonet lug.

Looks like the AR market has decided that 20" barrels are for grandpas, Vietnam Vets, and losers.

Anyhow- Is this BM rifle better quality than the ones on the market today by the same company?

Wake27
04-28-15, 22:37
Looks like the AR market has decided that 20" barrels are for grandpas, Vietnam Vets, and losers.

Anyhow- Is this BM rifle better quality than the ones on the market today by the same company?

That's definitely not true, they just recognized that maybe there isn't as much utility for the 20", like their customers. But since you already have it, why not shoot and answer your own question?

NWcityguy2
04-28-15, 22:52
Since BM has been bought out and relocated to Remington's plant, and the original BM plant is now owned by Windham Weaponry, there really isn't a "same company" to compare to.

Hank6046
04-28-15, 23:11
Since BM has been bought out and relocated to Remington's plant, and the original BM plant is now owned by Windham Weaponry, there really isn't a "same company" to compare to.

The Freedom Group meaning freedom from quality controls ;), Bushmaster is the new Pinto, having said that 20" barrels are still a lot of fun to have, there is something about that classic M16 look from the 80's that says bald eagles and Chuck Norris movies, shoot it and enjoy it, by the way kudo's on the name.

sourdough44
04-29-15, 03:26
I have a 16" Bushmaster that's 10+ years old. It's been lightly used but no issues. I recently got an 18" upper(BCM), then I also have 20 and 22".

I like the handiness of the lighter weight 16" barrels for general use. I has able to make it to a SD dog town on two occasions. For that I used the 20" and 22" AR's, one a custom, both with excellent triggers. It all depends on what one plans to do.

FishTaco
04-29-15, 21:42