PDA

View Full Version : AK Receiver Question

brushy bill
05-13-15, 23:37
I am no AK expert, so hopefully one of you can assist. Is this spot weld faulty?

I don't know if this is what is referred to as "burn through" or just a deep spot weld? This weld does not look like the others (see one beside it). Receiver is 1.5mm Zastava. Would this be a structural or purely cosmetic issue? Thanks.

SeaDonkey
05-14-15, 22:05
As long as nothing is binding up, I'd call it cosmetic.

interfan
05-15-15, 12:44
I am no AK expert, so hopefully one of you can assist. Is this spot weld faulty?

I don't know if this is what is referred to as "burn through" or just a deep spot weld? This weld does not look like the others (see one beside it). Receiver is 1.5mm Zastava. Would this be a structural or purely cosmetic issue? Thanks.

It is cosmetic. Burn through is when you get a hole that goes all the way through due to too much heat/cycle time (or other welding issues). The 1.5mm receivers usually have "deeper" or more pronounced spot welds due to their thickness (look at a RPK receiver some time, you should see pretty big spot welds). This is a factory gun (right?) and Zastava is generally pretty good quality. Depending on the factory's procedures (not all do it the same way), the inner rails are usually welded after the receiver and rails are heat treated, so you will have to use quite a bit of cycle time to get a good weld penetration and bond on hardened steel. Thicker receivers, more so.

brushy bill
05-15-15, 15:38