PDA

View Full Version : Making an Ultra Reliable AR

KTR03
07-16-08, 22:36
First off, this sight is awesome. Remarkably high signal to noise ratio. I know the next stuff I buy will be from GR Tactical, thats for sure. So anyways, I'm an AK and FAL guy but I've got an AR that I use for training and I want to make it as reliable with all types of ammo (wolf included) as I can. My intention was to build a simple, light carbine. Fast handling, basic, easy to use for me and my wife. This is what I've got so far:

I have a Bushmaster lower that I got in the late 90's. I've put an ambi safety in it (I shoot long guns left handed). It has a lightweight Ace fixes stock on it (the one that is build around the buffer tube). I bought it complete with the buffer and spring. I bought a complete upper from CMMG. Its their light weight upper, no rails, standard front sight with a flat top. I have a pedestal style Yankee hill sight on it and will either throw on an eotech or aimpoint. Guns about 5.5 lbs.

So, I have a black d ring that I can install. Thats easy. Even I can do that. I've verified that the gas key is staked.

Questions: So I need to stake the castle nut. I know there are some instructions on here. IS that pretty easy?

How do I tell what the BCG is? Will I need it upgraded?
SHould I put in an H buffer?
Any other upgrades/parts I should get? (I'm thinking of getting an enhanced bcg and using it and using the stock one as an extra).

Again, I'm looking for a fast handling, minute of dirt bag social rifle. Reliability is going to be king.

Any advice, tips, tricks, would be great!

Damien

Jay Cunningham
07-16-08, 22:51
https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=7009

https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=7355

SRG
07-17-08, 00:45