PDA

View Full Version : 1st Build Opinions

labeef
05-27-15, 22:13
Hello, I am new to the forum but very experienced with firearms. I have been shooting rifles and handguns extensively for quite a while. I just graduated from high school and my awesome dad got me a lower to start a build of my own. I’ve been researching the AR platform for two or three years at least, and have become very well versed - watching hundreds of hours of youtube videos and reading endless forum content about every part and upgrade you could think of. I’m going start purchasing and building the remainder of the firearm after I get back from BMT, AIT and OJT. Gotta love those USAF acronyms! I’ve settled on a SPR-ish type build. It will be used mostly for target and varmint uses minimum range would be about 100 yards to a maximum about as far as I can realistically hone my skills at my range (probably 400-500 yards??). Give all the feedback and firsthand advice you want to a first time AR builder. So here is my idea:

Lower: Northtech Defense Billet NT15S
Reason: Free
Trigger: Geissele SSA-E
Reason: 2 Stage, Non Adjustable, and a very reputable quality company
Safety Selector: V Seven Hybrid 3 Gun Sport – ambi version
Reason: It’s lightweight, appears to have a nice texture and also it’s different from the B.A.D. safety that everyone uses
Mag Release: Seekins
Reason: Texture and Aesthetics
Bolt Catch: Seekins
Reason: Texture, Aesthetics and Surface Area
Lower Parts Kit: DPMS Minus FCG
Reason: Rest of Lower Parts and most parts come from same factories
Stock: Magpul MOE Rifle
Reason: Solid Platform and Cheek Weld – Still debating going with UBR. Are the UBR’s as solid as a fixed stock?
Chrome Silicon Buffer Spring
Reason: Quieter, less wear on receiver extension, longevity
Pistol Grip: Ergo Tactical Deluxe
Reason: Rubberized for better grip and finger grooves for more consistent shot-to-shot finger and hand placement