PDA

View Full Version : Mount selection

matt86
06-15-15, 23:38
I'm building a recce and plan on using a Vortex PST 1-4x24, what mount should I go with? I'm new to the precision shooting thing. I don't want to pay a ton, its more for fun so I'm looking at $150 or less.

hotrodder636
06-16-15, 15:46
May be a few buck more, you can find them on sale though, American Defense mount if you are looking QD. I like my Larue just doesn't lock up as solid as my AD.

matt86
06-16-15, 18:13
I was also looking at the ADM. Just not sure if I need the qd, the scope will probably never come off, I'm mainly debating between the ADM and Vortex, there's about a $70 difference. If it's worth the extra money I'll spend it, just curious of what the extra money will get me.

hotrodder636
06-17-15, 18:10
If you are not looking for QD, then I would not focus too heavily on the AD. There are many good sets of rings/mounts out there.

Krusty783
06-20-15, 11:07
Aero Precision makes a nice non qd mount in 1" & 30mm. The Burris PEPR is quite popular and you can pick one up for $80 or less.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk.

cbx
06-23-15, 15:42
How do you shoot? Nose to charging handle or not?

Pepr is good. But it's up high over 1.6" if you like a low cheek weld there are better choices. If the optic has less than 4" relief and you run a long length of pull you can't get it back far enough either with a buis or offset rear sight.

Leupolds mark 2 mount is $89 I Amazon. If you don't need qd, its 1.4" high, slick on the left side for sling carry comfort with just a t shirt.

Lots of ring choices. The aero looks good too, it's 1.5" high.

Armalite makes a really low mount too for that $80 range.

If you have to have qd, skies the limit. Lots of choices there.

For you, I'd pick either a pepr or a mark 2 IMS, or an aero extended. Depends on how you hold you gun as to which.

If you need qd then pick your flavor.

matt86
06-23-15, 21:43