PDA

View Full Version : hornady kit?

texasgunhand
06-17-15, 12:11
Would you guys recommend the hornady lock and load kit?
I have a freind thats wanting to get stated reloading and Cabelas has this kit on sale right now for $260ish.
And hes bound and determined to get one sun. And he wants me to go with him to get everything he needs to get started. (Tumbler,trimmer,calipers.. etc) he has no idea.

Since i only got started in December and use RCBS stuff i have no experience with the hornady lock and load stuff at all. It comes with their digital scale iam going to recommend he also buys their beam scale.
Once again he wants to buy local , thats cabelas or academy and he wants enough to get a start now.
This post could go on forever, any thoughts on their stuff,, press,scales etc. Iam pretty sure hes going to get lee dies to start with and he will be reloading .380 and .223 mainly i think.

PaulnPats M-4
06-17-15, 14:38
I have been reloading for about 52 years, and yes your friend is really bitten by the bug. Hornady, RCBS, and the rest all make great presses, except Lee I think there junk, at least 15 years ago they were crap. I have a Dillon 550 and in my opinion they are top dog, customer service is legendary, and they have a no BS warranty, something breaks or wears out they send you the parts-no charge , but your friends selection is good, I have never used a Hornady, but my friends that have them are happy, and I think RCBS dies are the only way to go. Good Luck

texasgunhand
06-17-15, 22:43
Thanks for your post, yes hes ready he shoots a bunch and all he shoots is tulaammo becouse its cheap.
He orders 1000rnd bricks of 5.56 but since hes shooting it through a scoped bolt action the accuracy of it is not the greatest. He may not save a bunch of money but at least he will get accurate ammo for a change.