PDA

View Full Version : Converting an M4 Carbine

dsteed08
07-04-15, 09:39
Hey everyone! I have a bushmaster M4 carbine and was wondering what I need to change in order to make it to shoot 300 blk ammo (both sub/regular. Not sure this makes a difference) I've heard it's easy but wanted to make sure I didn't do anything stupid before hand. Or should I just "bite the bullet" so to speak and buy a 300 blk rifle? I've heard anything from just the barrel to switching out most of the gun parts. I'm looking to do a permanent conversion. Thanks a million!!

Koshinn
07-04-15, 09:44
Hey everyone! I have a bushmaster M4 carbine and was wondering what I need to change in order to make it to shoot 300 blk ammo (both sub/regular. Not sure this makes a difference) I've heard it's easy but wanted to make sure I didn't do anything stupid before hand. Or should I just "bite the bullet" so to speak and buy a 300 blk rifle? I've heard anything from just the barrel to switching out most of the gun parts. I'm looking to do a permanent conversion. Thanks a million!!

Barrel. Also a gas tube and gas block if you're not going to re-use the ones you already have, plus a rail/handguard as I'm assuming you have a front sight block currently installed.

But strictly speaking, the only absolutely necessary thing to change is the barrel.

Do you have a big-ass vice or access to one? Do you have a barrel block or upper receiver block or "reaction rod" type of thing to hold your upper in place? Do you have a barrel nut wrench and a torque wrench? Do you have moly grease on hand? You'll need these things to replace a barrel, and the cost is enough that if you never plan on re-barreling ever again, you're better off paying a gunsmith to do it all for you.

SteveL
07-04-15, 09:45
If you want to be able to switch back and forth between .300 blk and 5.56 then just buy a .300 blk upper and drop it on your lower. If you want to switch to .300 blk exclusively then you can rebarrel your existing upper.