PDA

View Full Version : My first AR

manny
07-23-08, 22:32
So my buddy and I went to the gun range 3 weeks ago and we rented a carbine. Neither one of us own any real guns but now we both plan to get one. I have been researching AR's for the past two weeks and I think I'm going to purchase a Stag Arms upper and lower, a magpul PRS stock, as well as some random accessories. I plan on mainly using this gun for the range and maybe some hunting. I've seen all the topics about hunting decent size game with the .223 round but I've been shooting for about 10 years and was on a rifle team for 4 years (I'm 22) so I'm a pretty good shot. Since I'm so new any advice would be appreciated.

Also, could someone please explain to me the difference between M4, Carbine, and AR 15 because I have seen all these terms used in conjunction and separately.

28_days
07-24-08, 00:20
Read this first: https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=6642&highlight=chart

Stag is okay, but you can do better for just a bit more. A PRS stock seems a bit out of place, but if you're using it for hunting I guess it makes some sense.

Carbine refers to a short rifle, or more specifically a shorter gas system usually found on AR15s 14.5" or shorter.

manny
07-24-08, 00:41
Thanks, I thought it had something to do with the profile of the gun but I wanted to be sure.

Yeah I wanted to get something a little bit better but I'm kind of on a budget right now and I just cant beat the prices that stagarms offers. The upper and lower come out to only $660. Lol, the PRS........kind of for hunting but mostly for looks.

Failure2Stop
07-24-08, 06:10