PDA

View Full Version : Which powder?

Ptrlcop
08-26-15, 20:51
So I have been slowly acquiring all the equipment I need to start reloading and am finally ready to start. My reason for reloading is to be able to be able to shoot higher volume than what I shoot with loaded ammo. I will not be the guy that obsesses over load development. I will be loading primarily 147gr coated lead 9mm to try and match poa/poi to my Winchester RA9T duty ammo. I will also be loading .38 special with 158 SWC coated lead but in much smaller numbers and more for fun than serious shooting.

With all that said I would like to put up a enough powder to get me into mid 2018(In case the wrong person gets elected and we have another run on components). Looking around, the powders I can acquire in the needed quantities are Advantage #5, Ramshot silhouette, Titegroup, and possibly Ramshot zip. I have ruled out Titegroup because I am new at this and it has a very narrow window of loads and I want some forgiveness of minor errors in charge weight. Cost seems to be about the same for the same weights of powder but I'm not sure if I would be burning more of one than the other per charge weight.

Gatorshark
08-26-15, 21:01
You sound like you've thought this out. With that, if you are just a little cautious with your quality control during reloading, titegroup is an excellent powder. I use it in just about all pistol cals. Don't let the nay sayers shy you away from it. If titegroup is what you can stock up on, don't pass it up.

texasgunhand
08-26-15, 23:37
Depends on what you need theres tons of powder... I use win 231, power pistol and unique. You can load 9mm and .38 with any of these including titegroup.

Since your planning to buy a large amount anyway I suggest buying a couple of 1 pounders and working up a load that meets your wants and needs. Really the only way to do this is loading up some sample rounds and go shoot them. You have to find what you and your guns like , then stockpile.