PDA

View Full Version : LEA's left and right seem to be ditching the M&P...what for?

Eurodriver
08-31-15, 15:54
I just learned from a buddy that Honolulu PD is replacing all of its M&Ps. A quick Google search shows many other large departments are or have followed suit (Texas DPS, for example) What's wrong with them? These things were touted as the next big thing (a "Glock Killer" (http://mp-pistol.com/mp-talk/724-m-p-glock-killer.html) ) when they were introduced but somehow they have failed to live up to the hype.

I was already heavily invested in Glocks, so I have limited experience with them and I am looking for insight. Regardless about your personal, potentially biased views on the M&P the facts are that several large departments have tossed the M&P after putting it into service for only a few short years. How can the bean counters justify that expense of taxpayer money without good cause?

Are LEA's just out blowing money needlessly playing with the newest toys they can find or are there serious shortcomings?

The Dumb Gun Collector
08-31-15, 16:30
I am not defending them, but big departments are dropping Glocks, HKs, SIGs, etc all the time. I always figured the new chief just owed some kickbacks to somebody.

T2C
08-31-15, 16:33
The company that made a department's current issue sidearm is not always low bidder when service pistols are replaced.

Guns-up.50
08-31-15, 16:51
Keep in mind many cops and agencies are not gun guys so to speak. So more often then not these decisions are based on price, and popularity, and past exp.

Kilroy
08-31-15, 16:53
Iowa State Patrol seemed to have durability problems on initial issue and that morphed into some problems for some command staff and others.
http://www.desmoinesregister.com/story/news/2015/05/08/iowa-agency-returns-800-handguns-from-contract-under-review/26978881/
http://www.desmoinesregister.com/story/news/2015/06/25/iowa-state-patrol-officials-handgun-contract-transfer/29297767/
and