PDA

View Full Version : Dillon 550 warmup??

MegademiC
09-10-15, 14:30
Hey guys, I'm new to reloading. I have 2000 rds under my belt so far but have some small issues. Load:
40sw
Barry's 180gr plated
Mix range brass
Unique 5.2 gr.
1.130 coal

When starting a new run, my first bullets col will be down to 1.125" and powder to 5.0gr. They will gradually increase and after 15 rds settle into the aim above. I checked and everything is tight. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong?

wilson1911
09-10-15, 14:38
If I am not mistaken Unique does not meter that well. I am not sure what you have on your dillon, but I run Bullseye and Clays and had some of the same problems. I have since bought the clamped machine heads and micro powder meter from Uniqutek. I also have the baffle and have polished everything. The machined heads are the best investment overall imho. COL greatly improved.

1_click_off
09-10-15, 19:59
As your powder settles it gets more dense. You could try tapping the power measure to pack it some. That is happening as you work the press. There was one guy on here that taped a "toy" on the side of his to settle the powder.

Eurodriver
09-10-15, 20:33
As your powder settles it gets more dense. You could try tapping the power measure to pack it some. That is happening as you work the press. There was one guy on here that taped a "toy" on the side of his to settle the powder.

That's hillarious. But effective.

What does "meters well" mean?

Cap'n Crash
09-10-15, 20:52
The powder measuring issues are not surprising. We had a discussion about Unique recently. But the COL has me stymied. I assumed that this was caused by variations in bullet shape/length; but I'm surprised that you get consistent results after the first 15 or so loads. You've measured enough finished loads to confirm that you consistently achieve your target COL after the first few? I find noticeable deviations in COL when loading round nose FMJ throughout the loading process.

wilson1911