PDA

View Full Version : Living in SLC or Denver areas

TomF
09-22-15, 13:34
This is still a bit of a pipe dream, but my wife and I are collecting information about a possible move out west. We have friends in both SLC and Denver areas, and those would likely be the options if we move. We have visited each and enjoyed both, but without living there we still have a lot of questions. If you guys who have lived here wouldn't mind providing some info, I would appreciate it.

This are mostly in order of importance, but I'm still brainstorming.

1.) Medical field employment. My wife is a nurse, I'm a paramedic (will get my RN eventually). I'd love an opportunity to work wilderness medicine on a rig or helicopter, participate in SAR, etc. If those aren't available, I will at least need an EMS organization that doesn't totally suck until I finish my RN.

2.) Gun laws, taxes, etc. I know CO has lost some ground on gun laws recently. I own some NFA items and carry a handgun every day.

3.) Weather. I like snow but my wife would prefer to drive in it less than we do now (Michigan). We get thick, heavy snow here and temps from zero to negative 10 every winter. I'd like to travel to the snow, if possible. If not possible, lighter snow and warmer temps would be appreciated.

4.) Recreation land for outdoor activities. I know both have a plethora available.

5.) Big game hunting. I'd love to be able to explore the mountains for deer, elk, moose, pronghorn, etc. Public land that produces would be awesome.

6.) Strong rental housing market. We'd consider buying and keeping a property if we don't stay out west indefinitely. I'd hire a management company to maintain it. Willing to use it as a regular rental home or a short term vacation rental if the area will support it.

7.) Good schools. No kids yet, so it's years away before schools matter, but it's a consideration.

Any info you can provide would be great. Thanks for your time.

FromMyColdDeadHand
09-22-15, 14:13