PDA

View Full Version : Looking to head back to Iraq...on my own terms. Contractors?

panzerr
07-29-08, 07:43
I know there are a few guys on this forum that have worked as contractors overseas and I'd like to tap them.

I'm looking to head back to Iraq, but this time on my own terms.

I did my time with combat patrols and would rather not do security outside the wire, but wouldn't rule it out. I've heard training Ugandans or other TCNs in security operations pays well... I've looked into KBR, but they don't pay all that well comparatively. Any suggestions?

Iraqgunz
07-29-08, 08:36
Can you elaborate a little more about your military time? Iraq has changed quite a bit and the old days of Tier 1 Spec Ops only is pretty much gone. There are still PSD gigs, but things have shifted quite a bit to static gigs where you supervise TCN guards and they don't need HSLD guys that want alot more than the current rate. If you can avoid KBR I would do so at all costs. They treat their people like children and it can be hard for those who play by big boy rules.

There are also training gigs here where you train Iraqi security and police, but again it's all background related. MPRI and DynCorp is one of the more well known here doing this and they are generally looking at E-6 and above or commissioned officers. Here are a few others in Iraq;

1. Blackwater
2. Triple Canopy
3. SOC-SMG
4. EODT- had been hiring alot lately
5. Aegis Defense
6. SAIC

I'm sure there are more but these are the ones that come to mind off the bat. Hopefully this will give you some thoughts and ideas. I personally believe that in addition to have a solid background the resume is probably most important. You need to be able to sell yourself and convince someone to hire you over Joe Blow.

panzerr
07-29-08, 08:48