PDA

View Full Version : Difference between gen3 and gen4 for glock 19

vpetrell
10-19-15, 08:21
I'm new to glocks a bit and am in the market after selling my Springfield.

What is the difference between the generations, and is one superior to the other? Sorry if this is a stupid question.

Thanks,

VP

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BillBond
10-19-15, 08:28
The gen 4 is supposed to be improved.
4 different backstraps to adjust the grip, different recoil spring and mag release.
While I had both to compare side by side I sold the gen 4.

vpetrell
10-19-15, 09:05
The gen 4 is supposed to be improved.
4 different backstraps to adjust the grip, different recoil spring and mag release.
While I had both to compare side by side I sold the gen 4.

Is one gen preferred over the other?

BillBond
10-19-15, 09:08
Depends on you.
I prefer gen 3 but you really need to fondle both to see what fits your hand best.

The gen 4 had teething problems at first, but that has been sorted out.

HighDesert
10-19-15, 09:09
Not to be a dick, but have you tried the search function? Countless discussions on this.

Really boils down to your personal preference and how it feels in your hand.

I prefer the thinner more textured grip of the Gen 4 and it also comes with an extra mag and adjustable back straps. If you're lefty the mag release can be switch over.

A lot of the Glock purists felt in the beginning that the BTF issues were just a Gen 4 issue and they preached the superiority of the Gen 3. I think over time this has been debunked.

I don't see any reason other than if you are on a strict budget to get a Gen 3 nowadays. Gen 4 is the updated generation.

Oh and skip the .40 and stick w 9mm.

wigbones
10-19-15, 09:16
I've handled both and the smaller grip on the gen 4 fits my hand better than the gen 3. It's all preference. Get your hands on both before making a decision.

vpetrell
10-19-15, 09:18
Not to be a dick, but have you tried the search function? Countless discussions on this.