PDA

View Full Version : 20 inch BCM upper with Stag A2 lower?

allthelumens
11-10-15, 01:51
I'm pretty new to the firearms scene, as only having ever owned one rifle (a S&W 16 inch M&P Sporter). I have since sold that carbine as money was tight. I've been doing as much research as I can for my next purchase (I might attempt an actual build one day.) This rifle will be used primarily for training and home defense. I wanted some input into this subject as to what I should include and or stay away from? I am thinking of going with a 20 inch BCM upper and Stag arms A2 lower. Thanks in advance.

Iraqgunz
11-10-15, 02:52
Why do you want a 20" especially when you indicate for home defense and training? A 16" carbine is more than sufficient and more compact for such a role. There are lots of sales happening right now. Take a look at these uppers and then find a lower of your choice.

http://sionicsweaponsystems.com/store2015/

Auto-X Fil
11-10-15, 06:10
There is not much advantage to an A2 lower. I suggest getting a carbine lower, which gives much greater flexibility now, and for future changes.

Stag is my favorite of the mid-grade AR manufacturers. They are not the equal of BCM, Noveske, LMT, KAG, etc, but I think for a lower they are a solid choice.

A 16" BCM upper would be an excellent choice. The extra velocity gained from 4" of additional barrel is of minimal utility, and the handing is greatly impacted.

Just one more suggestion: either spend the money on good optics, or stick with decent irons for now. Cheap optics have no place on a defensive weapon. Magpul, Troy, and others have good back-up iron sights that will work fine as primary sights until you save up and make a decision on optics.

allthelumens
11-10-15, 10:18